Claiming my package at the PhilPost Office

Yesterday I got this notice from the Philippine Post Office. It is said that I need to go to Quezon City branch to pick up my packages. This is not my first time to go here as I have been buying from abroad since 2009.

Both notices had stamps dated a week apart and arrived here for more than 2 weeks now. I don’t know what our mailman is doing and why I only get my notice 10-15 days after my items arrive.

Also, I am the one who will pick up my package from the post office instead of getting it delivered to my doorstep. Then why do we pay them if they don’t send our packages directly? AND WHY DID THEY HAVE TO INCREASE THEIR FEES, when they don’t send our packages directly? Apparently this fee is  for the “presentation to customs” fee.

Note: there is a 112 Pesos fee. back then this was only 50 pesos.

IMG_3107.JPG

Moving on. Here is the dilapidated Philpost office. We pay so much, yet the facility isn’t air-conditioned, dirty, and not maintained properly. Heck, Even the parking lot and the roads surrounding this building has full of potholes.

IMG_3108[1]

First step is to go to Window 37. Wait for them to call you before proceeding or else, people lined up will get mad. Like that one police man earlier who went straight and cut the line. He didn’t even tried to line up when people told him there’s a line. If he is in a rush, he should have come earlier, because like me, I got out of the office and sacrificed my lunch time for this. You can tell which people are given priority by our government. But that is another story.

IMG_3109[1]

Step two is you have to wait for the customs official to call your name after he goes inside a small room to find your package. He opens up your package and when he sees that you bought something worth less than 1000 Pesos, then like me, you can just collect your package and leave.

Others are not lucky. You will be given a computation out of nowhere (they have a paper they will show you with numbers that I don’t know where they got it.) and you have to pay them additionally for “TAX.”

Last time I was here, a girl ahead of me had a package worth 3500 Pesos. They know the value (HOW?) of the bag and gave her a computation. She had to pay a little over 1000 Pesos for it. I know part of the fee is for the paper documentation, which sadly, adds to the total amount of tax you have to pay. I know because I was also taxed 2000 Pesos for the 8000 Pesos items. (I had to bargain to the customs officer to lower the tax because I don’t have money on me.

IMG_3110[1].JPG

Unboxing Time! Even if the customs officer opened my package already, I am still excited to rip up the rest of the plastic. So, what did I get? My frame pannier front tube bag! It is in woodland camouflage pattern which I fell in love instantly the first time I saw it.

On one side, it has a zippered pouch with a mesh outside that also acts as a pocket. The other side has a velcro opening with two pockets inside. Both pouch are connected with straps and velcro for quick and easy installation/removal.

IMG_3116IMG_3117

The pouch came with a strap that you can use if you want to bring the bag along with you.

IMG_3124

Next is my Gopro bike mount. Originally, I ordered two, but only one came in the mail. SAD

IMG_3111[1]

No worries as I will just ask for a refund. Now I can finally use my Gopro for my bike. (I actually bought the Gopro because I planned to get a mountain bike before, its just now that my intended use for it will be realized.)

IMG_3115

Can’t wait to go home and install them on my bike.

Ride Safe!

21 comments

  1. Hello! I searched for your article and it’s really informative, thank you! I had a package arrive just on April 30 and it’s been stuck on turn-over to the next office since then, but I’m glad to hear that your experience was safe and secure. Regards!

    Like

  2. The phrase “Bring invoice or paypal”, did you bring your paypal or invoice?
    This was very informative thanks!

    Like

    1. Ez Arce · · Reply

      Sometimes they check it, sometimes no. if the line is short, they might do it. but I’ve always brought my invoice and they never asked for it because the items I buy are less than Php1000

      Like

  3. Wow! I didn’t know that you can also bargain at Philpost. I only know that you can bargain at EMS pasay.

    Did they gave you a receipt and a paper about import items like computation of your item?

    I got my parcel at Philpost qc branch last month.

    Like

    1. Ez Arce · · Reply

      It’s not really bargaining but you could ask nicely if you feel that you are being overcharged. I don’t know now because I see that they already have a computer with predetermined duties calculation on the counter so no one will ask where those numbers came from. Yes, they gave me a receipt for it.

      Like

  4. hi! pwede po kaya pumili ng post office branch na pagpipick up-an or pwede ko ba ilgay ung address ng branch sa shipping address? thanks 🙂

    Like

    1. No, hindi napipili ang branch. Sa pinakamalapit na branch kung anong address na nilagay mo dun mapupunta. unless you are using fedex,ups,etc., direcho sya sa house nyo.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi, I am from Davao and I ordered at gearbest and banggood… a smartband and a wireless head gear respectively.. I was tracking the shipment frequently from NLpost and SingPost also with PhlPost tracker… both says “Receive item at delivery office”… I had and experience before with BuySku purchasing a headset, car set charger and iphone back cover last 2013.. my parcel was delivered to my doorstep.. total shipping time is 42 days.. I didn’t pay Php112 or anything..

    Question: Did the process change overtime? Like items delivered to doorstep etc? or is the process in provincial areas different from there? I am just confused…

    By the way, your blog is truly helpful.. nice read.. thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ez Arce · · Reply

      I have yet to buy at gearbest, and i’ve just ordered from banggood. I will be claiming a package from bg at our nearest post office branch. I’ve been ordering online since 2012 and the only time a package is sent to my doorstep is when I choose a delivery option other than regular/airmail or when I order from amazon.

      I don’t think the process has changed, each site will have different shipping options that may or may not deliver to your doorstep. I hope my answer helps.

      Like

  6. Jayyy · · Reply

    Hi ask ko lang po kasi may binili akong goods from Singapore with tracking number

    May 5 2017 2:27PM Receive item at delivery office PHILIPPINES

    Ano po ibig sabihin ng Receive item at delivery office? Dumating na po ba sa delivery office ung item at idedeliver nila or ako po ang pupunta at kukuha ng item?

    Like

    1. Ez Arce · · Reply

      if it states received item at delivery office, it means its with the philpost office in Pasay. if it says in the tracking that the package is Enroute to delivery office then wait a day or 2 then go to your post office. ex: my local post is in NIA Road in QC.

      They won’t deliver your package unless you paid UPS/FEDEX/etc. you’ll get a notice to claim your package but you can bypass this notice if you have a tracking number.

      Like

      1. Jayyy · ·

        May 5 2017 2:27PM Receive item at delivery office PHILIPPINES
        May 4 2017 7:24AM Enroute to delivery office PHILIPPINES
        May 2 2017 3:44PM Turn-over item to next office PHILIPPINES
        May 2 2017 9:12AM Receive at country of destination PHILIPPINES
        Apr 30 2017 12:40AM Dispatch to country of destination Singapore

        So I just have to go to the PhilPost office po right

        Like

      2. Jayyy · ·

        Ask ko lang po ulit kasi sa Taft ako mang gagaling at madaming malapit na Post Office dito ang Philpost saang philpost po ako pupunta?

        Like

  7. Belle · · Reply

    Hi, ask ko lang po kung malalaman ba nila yung amount ng binili mo online?may nkalagay ba sa parcel o wala? as u said mas mahal yung babayaran mo sa custom if mahal yung item na nabili mo.what if kung sasabihin kong worth less than one thousand lang yung item ko kahit hindi naman, malalaman ba nila na nagsisinungaling lang ako?hehehe just asking first time ko pa kasi mag claim ng parcel. thanks

    Like

    1. Belle · · Reply

      ay saka ko lang nalaman required pala magdala ng invoice..panu kung wala akong ma present na invoice? ecoconsider ba nila? thanks

      Like

    2. Ez Arce · · Reply

      may nakasulat sa parcel na amount, weight, description, etc. kahit meron o wala kang dalang invoice, malalaman nila, o aalamin nila. mas mabuti kung meron kang dalang invoice para hindi na kayo magtalo sa amount. minsan kasi, lalo na kung galing sa mga non-english speaking countries, hinohold ng customs dahil: 1. hindi nila naiintindihan ang description, 2. sobrang baba ng amount na naka declare (suspicious sila dito).

      Anything less than 10k ngayon ay walang tax.

      Like

  8. hi,

    what if I dont have a claim notice.. can I still walk in on nearest phil post and ask for the status of my package?

    Like

    1. If you have a tracking number then you can see it from the philpost track and trace page. If not, Im not sure now if you can look for it in their records on your local post office.

      Like

      1. I have a tracking number with me, also the ebay transaction. nacheck ko rin sa philpost site yung tracking number at ang current status is “Enroute to delivery office” since feb 9(now is feb 13).
        nag email ako sa philpost amed email address pero wala response, at may nabasa ako na di talaga yata sila nagrerespond, so useless yung email address na nakalagay sa website.

        Like

      2. based sa experience ko. I know if it states “enroute to delivery office” on a friday, you can visit your post office after 3 days to assure that the package is already delivered to them. They will look for it if you give them your name and tracking number. if you wait for the postal notice, im sure it will take a month or more.

        Like

      3. Kakapunta ko lang kanina, based sa record nila, yung item nila as of the moment is since feb 6 pa lang.. so wala pa sa kanila yung item for feb 7 onwards, so wala pa sa kanila yung item ko, advice ng babae is atayin ko pang yung notice card, kasi ang lapit lang ng post office sa delivery address.. mga less than 2km away lang. kakalipat lang daw kasi nila.. actually both office na malapit sa proximity ng delivery address, ay kakalipat lang.. 😦

        Like

Leave a comment