Holiday Accident

I have been panning this for weeks now, I even had loaded up on carbs so that I can sustain the long distance I was planning to cover. I would have spent my weekend riding a total of 200km for both road and folding bike. But this long weekend for me came to a sudden end as I met an unfortunate accident on the 20km mark of my early morning ride.

Sorry for the blurry photo but this is the only photo I have taken regarding my accident. My hands were still shaking and my legs were in pain. I have to bear it for a few more minutes while the ambulance gets me to the nearest clinic. Yep. This is the second time I have ridden an ambulance.

IMG_3131[1]

It was a rainy Friday morning, and I have just dropped my wife to her office. As I got home, the rain has started to let up, so I have decided to push through with my plans. Half way to my destination, rain started to fall again but I have decided to continue.

The streets were now wet and slippery so I decided to slow a bit but still on pace. Around the 5th lap on the University Academic oval, I noticed a cab intersecting towards my direction. I started braking when I saw the driver notice me and stopped in the middle of the bike lane. Imaging that! Stopping on the freaking bike lane!

I panicked and braked hard enough that my rear tire skid and my left knee and shin take all the beating. It was that or went head on to the cab. Good thing nothing happened to my bones and my bike.

People rushed to my aid including the driver of the taxi. The security called the ambulance and took me to the university clinic. I got anti tetanus shots and had my wounds cleaned and bandaged up. The driver paid for the services and I did not press charges as there were no broken body parts.

I called our family driver to pick me up and got home safe. I was disappointed that I did not finish my goals for the weekend but I was lucky enough to walk out of the whole thing.

Edit:

It took about a week to heal the wounds and about another week for the wounds to close. I would like to thank the security personnel who called the ambulance and looked after my bike. I would also like to thank my very patient wife, who took care of my wounds and did not freaked out because of the accident. She said that I could bike again after my wounds have healed.

Leave a comment