Cycleasia Philippines part 1

Last February, my brothers (and sister-in-law) and I registered for the 2016 Alaska Cycleasia Philippines event that will take place tomorrow morning at the Mall of Asia. This is the second cycling event that I joined and the last time I DNF because I felt sick and was taken back through an ambulance. My goal now is to finish the event!

It was during my training for this event that I met an unfortunate accident that led to my chainstay bending upward, making my roadbike useless. Since I do not have any money to buy a new roadbike, I was pleased that I can use my folding bike for this event. Afterall, this is a folding bike blog! There is a separate category for folding bikes, but I was planning on using my roadbike until the accident and I wanted the jersey, not the tech shirt.

Schedule of the event. Photo grabbed from their FB account

We all joined the 40km challenge, the longest distance for the day. I considered this easy since I rode 30-40km every Saturday or Sunday when I was biking regularly but now, it will be a bit challenging because I only had a few days to prepare. (More on that on another post)

Our wave is located on our number so we need to be there before 5am to be physically and mentally prepared for the race.

IMG_0108

Here is the road map for the event tomorrow.

ACP-2016-40k-BikeCourse

40km Ride course. Photo grabbed from Alaska Cycleasia Philippines website

Finishers will be rewarded with Alaska Cycleasia Philippines Medal

ACP2016_FinishersMedal

Photo grabbed from their website

Today is the start of the claiming of the ride kits at the Microtel Inn and Suites Coral Way Ave. corner Seaside Boulevard, SM Mall of Asia Complex, Pasay. I was needed in the office so I authorized my brother to get the kits for me. Spyder, one of the event sponsors, was giving away a unique headgear for the first 300 claimants of the race kit. Fortunately for my brothers, they were able get not only their headgear, but mine as well. (Sorry no photos of the expo as I was stuck in the office)

IMG_0096

Got my race kit thanks to my brothers

The kit includes the following neatly organized inside a ziplock bag:

IMG_0116

  • Full zip Jersey with pockets at the back
  • timing chip with bike number
  • helmet stickers
  • our bib numbers with a set of safety pins

Since the event bag is not available at the time, they have given my brothers a piece of paper with a signature and number so we can claim it on raceday.

Some photos of the items included in the race kit. First up is the bike jersey. I clearly need to lose the tummy.

IMG_0107

Next are the race number stickers for the helmet and bike.

IMG_0114

Next, is the sponsor giveaway. I don’t know how to wear one or what it is called, but I think I can use this to help my sweat off the helmet.

IMG_0112IMG_0113

Another giveaway from the sponsor, a drifit, coin/key purse wristband.

IMG_0115

I am really excited for tomorrow, and I hope everything goes according to plan and have a safe and fun experience. Wish me luck that I may be able to finish this time.

For more details of the Event, please visit http://www.cyclephilippines.com.ph/alaska/

Ride Safe!

Leave a comment